top of page
  • Writer's pictureNo More Power Heels

Choices...we all have them!

Updated: Nov 11, 2020



What do you do when you know you have to let go of something or close the door on the past but the pain of doing this is so intense it knocks you off your feet?


 

I am a big believer in never focussing on what you don’t have but always looking at what possibilities lay ahead. Now in theory that is a perfect recipe for progress and success but I have to say in practice it doesn’t always work.

I find myself at the happiest place I have been in 5 years. I have finally reached a place of inner peace. I have let go of grief after the sudden loss of my husband and a past that shackled me to pain, guilt and regret. Now allowing me now to live again, breathe again and look forward in hope.

But how am I able to stay in this place of positivity when the world around me seems hell bent on keeping me shackled to a that place of pain. Well the answer is very simple and I can sum it up in one word...’CHOICES’. We all have choice as to which pen tip we are going to write a specific page in the story of our lives.



A choice to remain where we are or a choice to move forward in our lives regardless of pain or tough decisions that may need to be made along the way. We have a choice to not allow ourselves to respond to the negativities of life with a hand shake and a warm smile, instead we can say that ‘positivity is the only friend you need to sit down and have a drink with’.


You see choices make the difference between success and failure, between happiness and sadness, between a future filled with hope or a present weighed down by the past. And the most incredible things about choices are that they belong to and are all up to YOU.


I read in a LinkedIn post very recently that the hardest thing and the right thing are usually one and the same. This is true of choices, you see I believe that the hardest choice may not be the choice that will immediately fill you with joy because in those moments, even knowing that the right decisions will bring you long term happiness the short term pain of making the hard decision is all we can focus on.

 

So I have had to challenge myself and I want to challenge you. When making choices in your life ask yourself a key question. Take a moment today and sit in a quiet place, think about making a decision on something you have been avoiding for a while now.


Q: Is the long term plan and happiness for my life based on me choosing to make a tough decision and can I afford to stay in my current place of indecision and pain?


YES - If yes then keep on doing what your doing. I am not here to judge if you are feel comfortable with staying where you are and want to continue to love and live in the place you are at then all power to you. Just remember that fear and denial can ofter be dressed up as contentment and happiness.


NO - If not then you need to make a choice to do the hard thing by doing the right thing now. This will require a level of bravery that you may not have immediately available. I challenge you to dig deep inside yourself to make change and take action. Yes it will hurt like hell but your future happiness depends on you making tougher decisions today so that a brighter future can be yours tomorrow.


Are you ready for a change?


Stay blessed,

Ax


51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page