top of page
  • Writer's pictureNo More Power Heels

I Can’t Sleep!

Updated: Nov 11, 2020


So it’s 23:47 and I am wired and wide awake...again! No amount of spa music is helping to silence the constant noise that is going on in my head.


Now for those that know me well, know that I am an early riser. My day generally starts at 5am and with God, through prayer and worship. Then I do an hour of work and develop my personal brands. This is then topped off with an hour of exercise, so by the time most people get up at 8am, I am alive and ready to start my day.


Some of you must be thinking ‘this woman is crazy’ lol!. But my belief is that those 3 hours are MY time. The silence of that time of day is beautiful to me and truly mine, no one asking me questions, calling me, emailing me, simply no demands of my time at all... it’s is pure bliss!

Now tail that with the end of the day when the chaos, all be it mostly positive, has demanded so much of me that come bedtime, which is usually 10:30pm, my mind is racing and cannot switch off. Spa music playing is drowned out by the fast pace of ideas and creative energy I want to free out of me.


I don’t know if any of you can relate to the feeling of not being able to switch off? I have had to create new habits to force myself to try a new way to end my day and not have thoughts running wild, keeping me awake.

  1. Bedtime Alert - I have an alarm set on my phone that goes off at 10pm to tell me to shut down and get ready for bed. I have already showered so I go straight to my bedtime routine.

  2. Bedtime Routine - I have a note pad next to my microwave which gives me the ability to write out my thoughts whilst my milk is warming up, ready for me to drink and relax in my bed with the spa music.

  3. Thank God - I end the day the way I started it which is by thanking God for my life and praying.



Now all of these things are great right... so why am I still up at what is now 00:04!!!!! This is a all to familiar dance I play with myself of hide and go sleep.


The simple fact is that when this happens I did not prioritise and hold myself accountable for my lack of resilience around sticking with my bedtime routine. The simple truth is when my alarm goes off, I ignore the instructions, that then throws off my journalling and downloading of thoughts and drinking of hot milk. That then keeps all my thoughts in my head and so when I lay down in my bed, relaxation is the furthest thing from my mind!


My point... the success or failure of setting habits to manage the health of your mind, body and soul is solely in the hands of YOU!


Just by writing out my thoughts I now feel lighter and ready to relax!

So on that note I will leave you with a thought, are you are in control of your own life and the decisions you make, if not maybe it is time to take your life back!

Hey it’s #justathought💭

Stay Blessed and Stay Safe,

Ax

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page